HealthITGuy's Blog

The evolving world of healthcare IT!

Cisco UCS C210 M2 2U Rack Server: First Thoughts

Here are a few pictures for you to see at the below link of our new Cisco rack mount server, a 2U C210 M2 Server.  It has 2 Westmere 6 core CPUs, 48 GB memory, ISL MegaRaid 9261 controller, 2 – 146 GB 10K Raid 1, 4 – 146 GB 10K Raid 5 and 1 hot spare disk.

http://tinyurl.com/32e6ypb

CIMC:  Cisco Integrated Management Controller

We are in the process of installing Windows 2008 64 bit R2 for the OS.  I personally have not be doing the install but I have seen the CIMC:  Cisco Integrated Management Controller (version 1.1.1).  You can think of this like the iLO from HP or DRAC from Dell.

The CIMC for a C-Series Rack Server

I wish there was more information in this tool, more like what I am use to in the full UCS Manager.  For example, we needed to load the W2K8 drivers for the Raid controller and could not remember the model number.  We looked in the inventory of the CIMC and it only listed the disks in the storage section.  I had to go back to my order information to determine we purchased it with the ISL MegaRaid 9261.

Checking out more of the CIMC, there is a good amount of information in and function in here.  You can mount virtual media, remote to the console, configure LDAP for authentication, define alerts, update firmware, etc.  So there is what you would expect to find in a component like this for a rack server.

CIMC view of Admin - Event Managment

Thinking down the road, I can see value in having the ability to manage my C-Series servers via the UCS Manager tool.  I would hope that will bring with it greater info on hardware details, service profiles and hardware abstraction as well?

September 17, 2010 Posted by | Cisco UCS | , , | Leave a comment