HealthITGuy's Blog

The evolving world of healthcare IT!

Personal Trust in UCS

Took less that 2 hours to get it done.

Working in a hospital environment within the IT group you tend not to have much contact with patients.  Your focus tends to be on what is the best technology to get the job done in a cost-effective manner.  I personally try to think about a family member or friend being in the hospital that will be dependent on the decisions and directions we set in IT.  Case and point, in selecting Cisco UCS to run a significant amount of our clinical applications, I had to have enough trust in the system that it would function correctly.

I broke my collar-bone 5 weeks ago and it finally needed to be surgically repaired on Tuesday.  Yesterday as I was looking at the x-ray with the new plate and 6 screws I realized that several servers that make up our Surgical Application System is running live on Cisco UCS.  Meaning I trust Cisco UCS so much that I had no concerns having surgery using systems running on Cisco UCS.  In fact, because of my knowledge of UCS, my comfort level was higher because it is more redundant and flexible.

March 4, 2010 - Posted by | General

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

